Attractions, sights

Sights to see in Neszmély and in the area

King’s well

Going past the wine cellars, we get to a nice forest setting with a well built over a spring. It is estimated to have been there since the 15th century. It was named after Albert Habsburg, who used to be king of Hungary under the name of I. Albert (1437-1439). Albert went to war against the Turkish armada who were threatening the Southern ends of the country. He died at the outskirts of Neszmély, at the spring on Szőlőhegy.

Castle rock

On Castle rock, to the South from the village, we can find the ruins of a rectangular tower from the 15th century, supposedly from the age of King Sigmund.

Castle rock tour: ADRENALIN TOUR

Would you take it on? Steep hillside uphill, creeping-crawling, climbing. But the view from the top is stunning! The view of the river Danube, the islands, the “other side”, the unspoilt nature. Meanwhile you can collect treasures of nature (stones, pebbles, cones, leaves, crops) and observe fauna of the forest with the help of an expert. Recommended clothes: comfortable, sealed attire, shoes suitable for hiking.

Dunaalmás quarry

Organised tour with the help of an expert. Quarrying in the footsteps of the Romans! Recommended clothes: comfortable, sealed attire, shoes suitable for hiking.

Neszmély Arboretum

The Neszmély Arboretum is a conservation area. It is located on the outskirts of Neszmély, next to Gombáspuszta, surrounded by autochthonous forests. It is part of the Gerecse Landscape Protection Area. After Trianon in Hungary, pine trees that were autochthonous abroad were planted in several parts of the country as an experiment to replace the pine forest lost due to the relocation of our borders. In this climate, the trees grew fast, which meant valuable timber and a little compensation for the woods lost. Such experimental forests can be found in the Neszmély Arboretum as well. Besides the economically valuable pines cedars of great number, we can find other subordinated gymnosperms and some autochthonous species as well. In the old days the number of species exceeded a hundred.

Statue of Csokonai Vitéz Mihály, Lilla and Lilla’s grave

The Csokonai Culture House was built on the site of the previously demolished Lilla’s house in 1933. The statue of the poet was set next to the house in a nicely arranged park. Julianna Vajda, who is often referred to as Lilla in literary sources, used to be the poet’s great love, the muse of the Lilla poems. Her feelings towards Csokonai weren’t absolutely neutral, but getting bored of waiting, she got married to a rich merchant called István Lévai in 1798. Lilla died at the age of 79 in 1855. Her grave is in the cemetery in Dunaalmás. The invaluable objects and written records that accumulated during the research were placed into the memorial room, which was inaugurated in 1971. Here we can also see Lilla’s portrait.

Neszmély open-air ship museum

Hungary’s most prestigious open-air ship museum on the river is hiding in Neszmély, in the Saint Ilona bay surrounded by beautiful islands. The way to the museum is indicated by a silver propeller on the main road of the village. The steamers line up on the calm waters of Saint Ilona bay, in magical natural surroundings and provide unique recreational opportunity for the whole family.